Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     

Faculty & Staff

The Department of English has 23 full-time faculty members who have combined to create a vibrant intellectual community. In addition to literary scholars and critics, the faculty includes poets, novelists, biographers, linguists and specialists in English education. Committed to their students and their individual disciplines, they represent an array of scholarly approaches and methodologies, each devoted to the written word. Among the honors given to English faculty in recent years are two CASE New Jersey Professor of the Year awards, the Rona Jaffe Foundation award, a Guggenheim award, and fellowships from the Bush Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Faculty Profiles

Bernard Bearer

Bernard Bearer

Assistant Professor

Nineteenth century American lit, American satire, William Faulkner, George Bernard Shaw

University of Connecticut (M.A.)

bearer@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2792

Bliss Hall 215

Juda Charles Bennett 

Juda Charles Bennett

Professor

Washington University in St. Louis (Ph.D.)

  bennett@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2380

Bliss Hall 239

David Blake

 

 Professor

19th and 20th century U.S. literature, creative nonfiction

Washington University in St. Louis (Ph.D.)

 blake@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3048

Bliss Hall 226

Jo Carney

Jo Carney

Professor

Shakespeare, Early Modern Literature and History, the Literary Fairy Tale

University of Iowa (Ph.D.)

 carney@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3047

Bliss Hall 131

Ellen Friedman


Photo by: Lauren H. Adams

Professor

Modern American Literature, Gender and Literature, Literary Theory, Representations of the Holocaust

New York University (Ph.D.)

 friedman@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2658

Bliss Hall 234

 Jean Graham

Graham

Associate Chair, Professor

Early Modern Literature and History, Milton, Metaphysical Poetry

Case Western Reserve University (Ph.D.)

graham@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3233

Bliss Hall 135

 Frank Hannold

Frank Hannold

Assistant Professor

University of Florida (M.A.)

 hannold@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2697

Bliss Hall 212

Harriet Hustis

 

Professor

Brown University (M.A., Ph.D.)

 hustis@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2632

Bliss Hall 201

Cassandra Jackson

Cassandra Jackson

Professor

Emory University (Ph.D.)

 cjackson@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2687

Bliss Hall 219

 Lincoln Konkle

Lincoln Konkle

Professor

Thornton Wilder, American Drama, Classical to Contemporary Drama, Bruce Springsteen

Board Member of the Edward Albee Society and Thornton Wilder Society

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

 konkleli@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2346

Bliss Hall 223

 Larry McCauley

Larry McCauley

Assistant Professor

19th-century British Literature and Ecocriticism

University of Iowa (Ph.D.)

 mccauley@tcnj.edu

 (609) 771-2584

Bliss Hall 230

 Mindi McMann

Assistant Professor

Contemporary and British Anglophone Literature

University of California (Ph.D.)

mcmannm@tcnj.edu

(609) 771- 2918

Bliss Hall 224

Emily Meixner

Emily Meixner

Associate Professor

Coordinator of English Secondary Education Program

Young Adult Literature, Teacher Identity Development, Reading and Writing Pedagogy

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

 meixner@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2686

Bliss Hall 217

 Jia-Yan Mi

Jia-Yan Mi

Associate Professor

Comparative and Asian American Literature, Critical Theory and Cultural Studies, Visual and Film Studies

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, University of California at Davis (Ph.D.)

  mi@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2468

Bliss Hall 218

 Lisa Ortiz-Vilarelle

Lisa

Associate Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator

20th century American literature, Autobiography studies, Multi-ethnic & Inter-American literary studies, Latin American literature

Wayne State University (Ph.D.)

 ortiz@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3231//(609) 771-3086

Bliss Hall 130//229

 Michael Robertson

Michael Robertson

Professor

Poetry, utopian studies, American and British cultural and literary history, 1865-1925

Princeton University (Ph.D.)

 mroberts@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3399

Bliss Hall 231

 Catie Rosemurgy

Catie Rosemurgy

Professor

Poetry, Creative Writing, Contemporary Literature

University of Alabama (M.F.A.)

 rose@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2559

Bliss Hall 221

 Jess Row

Jess Row

Associate Professor

Creative Writing (Fiction), Contemporary American and World Literature, Narrative and Novel Theory

University of Michigan (M.F.A.)

 row@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2363

Bliss Hall 228

 Felicia Jean Steele

Felicia Steele

Assistant Professor

History of the English Language, Old and Middle English Language and Literature, Medievalism

University of Texas at Austin (Ph.D.)

 steele@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2698

Bliss Hall 207

 Glenn Steinberg

Glenn Steinberg

Department Chair, Professor

Medieval and Renaissance literature, Chaucer, Dante, Spenser, Reception Theory, Bourdieu

Indiana University (Ph.D.)

 gsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2106

Bliss Hall 128

 Michele Lise Tarter

Michele Lise Tarter

Professor

Early American Literature, Women’s Autobiography, Quaker Studies

University of Colorado/Boulder (Ph.D.)

 tarter@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3115

Bliss Hall 222

 David Venturo

David Venturo

Professor

English Literature 1600-1850, Popular Culture, Genre Theory

Harvard University (Ph.D.)

 dventuro@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2155

Bliss Hall 220

 Piper Kendrix Williams

Piper Kendrix Williams

 Associate Professor

African American Literature, African Diaspora Literature, and Caribbean Women’s Literature

Rutgers University (Ph.D.)

 williamp@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3113

Social Sciences 335

Part-Time Faculty

Wilbur H Sowder Jr.Wilbur H Sowder Jr.

Assistant Professor of English and Education

The Rutgers Graduate School of Education (M.Ed.)

Middlebury College – The Bread Loaf School of English (M.A.)

sowderw@tcnj.edu

609-771-2296

Bliss 216

Diane Steinberg

Diane Steinberg

Assistant Professor of English

Medieval and Early Modern European Lit, British Romanticism, Linguistics

Sigma Tau Delta chapter sponsor

St. John’s College (M.A.) Indiana University (M.A.)

dsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2113

Bliss 211

 Affiliated Faculty

Monica F. Jacobe JacobeSmall

Director of E.S.L. and American Studies

20th Century American literature, Creative Writing, Mass Communication,

The Catholic University of America (Ph.D.)

 jacobem@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2856

Social Sciences 238

 

 

Other Staff

· Secretary and Program Assistant

· Graduate Assistant

 

Faculty Emeritus
Mary Biggs (mbiggs@tcnj.edu)
James Brazell (brazell@tcnj.edu)
Paul Cruser (pcruser@tcnj.edu)
William DeMeritt (bdemeritt@comcast.net)
Lahna Diskin (lfdiskin@verizon.net)
Frank Erath (gerath1@hotmail.com)
Lee Harrod (harrod@tcnj.edu)
Milton Levin (tscets@comcast.net)
Alexander Liddie (a.liddie13@verizon.net)
David McGrail

Robert Mehlman (robertmehlmanphd@aol.com)
Thomas Murray (tjm0707@gmail.com)
Barry Novick (kinoeye45@mwn.com)
Lynn Waterhouse (lynwater@tcnj.edu)
Peter Wood (pandjwood@verizon.net)

 

Top