The College of New Jersey

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     

Faculty & Staff

The Department of English has 20 full-time faculty members who have combined to create a vibrant intellectual community. In addition to literary scholars and critics, the faculty includes poets, novelists, biographers, linguists and specialists in English education. Committed to their students and their individual disciplines, they represent an array of scholarly approaches and methodologies, each devoted to the written word. Among the honors given to English faculty in recent years are two CASE New Jersey Professor of the Year awards, the Rona Jaffe Foundation award, a Guggenheim award, and fellowships from the Bush Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Faculty Profiles

     

Juda Charles Bennett

Juda Charles Bennett

Department Chair, Professor

Washington University in St. Louis (Ph.D.)

bennett@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2380

Bliss Hall 239

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
on Zoom Monday and Thursday 10:00am-12:00pm

David Blake

Professor

19th and 20th century U.S. literature, creative nonfiction

Washington University in St. Louis (Ph.D.)

blake@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3048

Bliss Hall 226

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours on Zoom: 
Monday and Thursday
2-3:20pm by appointment

Jo Carney

Jo Carney

English Graduate Program Coordinator, Professor

Shakespeare, Early Modern Literature and History, the Literary Fairy Tale

University of Iowa (Ph.D.)

carney@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3047

Bliss Hall 131

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours Monday and Thursday 3:30-5:30pm
Email for an appointment

Ellen Friedman


Photo by: Lauren H. Adams

Professor

Modern American Literature, Gender and Literature, Literary Theory, Representations of the Holocaust

New York University (Ph.D.)

friedman@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2658

Bliss Hall 234

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours Tuesday 3:30-5:00pm and Wednesday 3:00-4:30pm
Email for direct link

Jean Graham

Professor

Early Modern Literature and History, Milton, Metaphysical Poetry

Case Western Reserve University (Ph.D.)

graham@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3233

Bliss Hall 135

Harriet Hustis

Professor

Brown University (M.A., Ph.D.)

hustis@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2632

Bliss Hall 201

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours on Zoom Tuesday 3:30-5:00pm Wednesday 3:00-4:30pm

Cassandra Jackson

Cassandra Jackson

Professor

Emory University (Ph.D.)

cjackson@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2687

Bliss Hall 219

Lincoln Konkle

Professor

Thornton Wilder, American Drama, Classical to Contemporary Drama, Bruce Springsteen

Board Member of the Edward Albee Society and Thornton Wilder Society

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

konkleli@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2346

Bliss Hall 223

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Tuesday and Friday 12:45-1:45pm by appointment

Mindi McMann

Associate Professor

Contemporary and British Anglophone Literature

University of California (Ph.D.)

mcmannm@tcnj.edu

(609) 771- 2918

Bliss Hall 224

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Monday 1:00-2:30pm, Thursday 3:00-4:30pm, and by appointment

Emily Meixner

Associate Professor

Coordinator of English Secondary Education Program

Young Adult Literature, Teacher Identity Development, Reading and Writing Pedagogy

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

meixner@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2686

Bliss Hall 217

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Monday 3:30-4:30pm, Tuesday 1:00-3:00pm, or by appointment

Jia-Yan Mi

Associate Professor

Comparative and Asian American Literature, Critical Theory and Cultural Studies, Visual and Film Studies

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, University of California at Davis (Ph.D.)

mi@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2468

Bliss Hall 218

Lisa Ortiz-Vilarelle

Professor

20th century American literature, Autobiography studies, Multi-ethnic & Inter-American literary studies, Latin American literature

Wayne State University (Ph.D.)

ortiz@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3231//(609) 771-3086

Bliss Hall 130//229

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
On Sabbatical

Michael Robertson

Michael Robertson

Professor

19th-century American and British literature,
Utopian/Dystopian literature

Princeton University (Ph.D.)

mroberts@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3399

Bliss Hall 231

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Tuesday and Friday 3:30-4:50pm
Email for appointment or phone call 

Catie Rosemurgy

Catie Rosemurgy

Professor

Poetry, Creative Writing, Contemporary Literature

University of Alabama (M.F.A.)

rose@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2559

Bliss Hall 215

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Wednesday 10:00am-1:00pm individual appointments
Wednesday 3:00-4:00pm Open hours

Appointment link through
Google Calendar

Jess Row

Jess Row

Creative Writing Program Coordinator, Associate Professor

Creative Writing (Fiction), Contemporary American and World Literature, Narrative and Novel Theory

University of Michigan (M.F.A.)

row@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2363

Bliss Hall 212

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Tuesday and Fridays 9:00-10:00am and 3:30-4:30pm

Felicia Jean Steele

Professor

History of the English Language, Old and Middle English Language and Literature, Medievalism

University of Texas at Austin (Ph.D.)

steele@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2698

Bliss Hall 207

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
on Zoom
Tuesday 11:30am-1:00pm Thursday 3:30-4:50pm

Glenn Steinberg

Glenn Steinberg

Professor

Medieval and Renaissance literature, Chaucer, Dante, Spenser, Reception Theory, Bourdieu

Indiana University (Ph.D.)

 

gsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2106

Bliss Hall 128

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Email for appointment

Michele Lise Tarter

Michele Lise Tarter

Professor

Early American Literature, Women’s Autobiography, Quaker Studies

University of Colorado/Boulder (Ph.D.)

tarter@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3115

Bliss Hall 222

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
Wednesday 11:00am-12;00pm and by appointment

David Venturo

David Venturo

Professor

English Literature 1600-1850, Popular Culture, Genre Theory

Harvard University (Ph.D.)

dventuro@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2155

Bliss Hall 220

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
on Zoom Tuesday and Friday 12;20-1:20pm and 3:20-4:20pm
also by appointment

Piper Kendrix Williams

Piper Kendrix Williams

Associate Professor

African American Literature, African Diaspora Literature, and Caribbean Women’s Literature

Rutgers University (Ph.D.)

williamp@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3113

Social Sciences 335

Fall 2020 Remote Office Hours
on Zoom Monday and Thursday 11:00am-12;00pm and by appointment

Part-Time Faculty

Diane Steinberg

Diane Steinberg

Interim Associate Chair, Assistant Professor of English

Medieval and Early Modern European Lit, British Romanticism, Linguistics

Sigma Tau Delta chapter sponsor

St. John’s College (M.A.) Indiana University (M.A.)

dsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2113

Bliss 211

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Bernard Bearer (bearer@tcnj.edu)
Mary Biggs (mbiggs@tcnj.edu)
James Brazell (brazell@tcnj.edu)
Paul Cruser (pcruser@tcnj.edu)
William DeMeritt (bdemeritt@comcast.net)
Lahna Diskin (lahna.diskin@gmail.com)
Frank Erath (gerath1@hotmail.com)
Frank Hannold (hannold@tcnj.edu)
Lee Harrod (harrod@tcnj.edu)
Milton Levin (tscets@comcast.net)
Lawrence McCauley (mccauley@tcnj.edu)
David McGrail
Alexander Liddie (a.liddie13@verizon.net)
Robert Mehlman (robertmehlmanphd@aol.com)
Thomas Murray (tjm0707@gmail.com)
Barry Novick (kinoeye45@mwn.com)
Lynn Waterhouse (lynwater@tcnj.edu)
Peter Wood (pandjwood@verizon.net)

 

Office Staff

Program Assistant, Michelle Ordini

Graduate Assistants, 2020-2021 Academic Year
Sharon Stanley
Silas Jones- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2019-2020 Academic Year
LaToya Pegram
Heather Haase- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2018-2019 Academic Year
LaToya Pegram
Jordan Virgil- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2017-2018 Academic Year
Shirley Panjabi
LaToya Pegram
Rachel Atkins – Research Assistant

 

 

Top