The College of New Jersey

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

Faculty & Staff

The Department of English has 19 full-time faculty members who have combined to create a vibrant intellectual community. In addition to literary scholars and critics, the faculty includes poets, novelists, biographers, linguists and specialists in English education. Committed to their students and their individual disciplines, they represent an array of scholarly approaches and methodologies, each devoted to the written word. Among the honors given to English faculty in recent years are two CASE New Jersey Professor of the Year awards, the Rona Jaffe Foundation award, a Guggenheim award, and fellowships from the Bush Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Faculty Profiles

Samira
Abdur-Rahman

Assistant Professor

English, Africana Studies,
African American Studies and Literature

Rutgers University, (Ph.D.)

 

abdurras@tcnj.edu

609-771-2697

Bliss Hall 210

Juda Charles Bennett

Juda Charles Bennett

Professor

Queer Literature and Theory, African American Literature, and Transgender Theory

Washington University in St. Louis (Ph.D.)

bennett@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2380

Bliss Hall 239

David Blake

Professor

19th and 20th century U.S. literature, creative nonfiction

Washington University in St. Louis (Ph.D.)

blake@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3048

Bliss Hall 226

Jo Carney

Jo Carney

English Graduate Program Coordinator, Professor

Shakespeare, Early Modern Literature and History,
the Literary Fairy Tale

University of Iowa (Ph.D.)

carney@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3047

Bliss Hall 131

Ellen Friedman


Photo by: Lauren H. Adams

Professor, Sabbatical AY 2021-2022

Modern American Literature, Gender and Literature, Literary Theory, Representations of the Holocaust

New York University (Ph.D.)

friedman@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2658

Bliss Hall 234

Sabbatical AY 2021-2022

Jean Graham

Professor

Early Modern Literature and History, Milton, Metaphysical Poetry

Case Western Reserve University (Ph.D.)

graham@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3233

Bliss Hall 230

Harriet Hustis

Professor

Coordinator Honors Program

Literary and Classical Studies, Response Theory,
Disability Theory, Gothic Fiction

Brown University (M.A., Ph.D.)

hustis@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2632

Bliss Hall 201

Cassandra Jackson

Cassandra Jackson

Professor

African-American Literature, Critical Race Theory,
Visual Culture

Emory University (Ph.D.)

cjackson@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2687

Bliss Hall 219

Lincoln Konkle

Professor

Thornton Wilder, American Drama, Classical to Contemporary Drama, Bruce Springsteen

Board Member of the Edward Albee Society and Thornton Wilder Society

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

konkleli@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2346

Bliss Hall 223

Mindi McMann

Associate Professor

Contemporary and British Anglophone Literature

University of California (Ph.D.)

mcmannm@tcnj.edu

(609) 771- 2918

Bliss Hall 224

Emily Meixner

Professor

Coordinator of English Secondary Education Program

Young Adult Literature, Teacher Identity Development,
Reading and Writing Pedagogy

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

meixner@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2686

Bliss Hall 217

Jia-Yan Mi

Associate Professor

Comparative and Asian American Literature, Critical Theory and Cultural Studies, Visual and Film Studies

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, University of California at Davis (Ph.D.)

mi@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2468

Bliss Hall 218

Lisa Ortiz-Vilarelle

Professor

20th century American literature, Autobiography studies, Multi-ethnic & Inter-American literary studies, Latin American literature

Wayne State University (Ph.D.)

ortiz@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3231

Bliss Hall 229

Catie Rosemurgy

Catie Rosemurgy

Professor

Poetry, Creative Writing, Contemporary Literature

University of Alabama (M.F.A.)

rose@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2559

Bliss Hall 215

Felicia Jean Steele

Associate Professor

History of the English Language, Old and Middle English Language and Literature, Medievalism

University of Texas at Austin (Ph.D.)

steele@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2698

Bliss Hall 207

Glenn Steinberg

Glenn Steinberg

Professor, Interim Department Chair

Medieval and Renaissance literature, Chaucer, Dante, Spenser, Reception Theory, Bourdieu

Indiana University (Ph.D.)

 

gsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2106

Bliss Hall 216

Michele Lise Tarter

Michele Lise Tarter

Professor

Early American Literature, Women’s Autobiography, Quaker Studies

University of Colorado/Boulder (Ph.D.)

tarter@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3115

Bliss Hall 222

David Venturo

David Venturo

Professor

English Literature 1600-1850, Popular Culture, Genre Theory

Harvard University (Ph.D.)

dventuro@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2155

Bliss Hall 220

Piper Kendrix Williams

Piper Kendrix Williams

Associate Professor

African American Literature, African Diaspora Literature, and Caribbean Women’s Literature

Rutgers University (Ph.D.)

williamp@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3113

Social Sciences 335

 

Part-Time Faculty

Diane Steinberg

Diane Steinberg

Interim Associate Chair, Assistant Professor of English

Medieval and Early Modern European Lit, British Romanticism, Linguistics

Sigma Tau Delta chapter sponsor

St. John’s College (M.A.) Indiana University (M.A.)

dsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2113

Bliss 211/135

Christina
Maffa-Johnson

Visiting Assistant Professor

English Secondary Education

maffac1@tcnj.edu

609-771-2584

Bliss Hall 225

 

Visiting Assistant Professor 

Susanne Davis

 

Visiting Assistant Professor

 University of Iowa  (M.F.A. in Creative Writing with Fiction concentration)

daviss@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2363

Bliss Hall 212

Davy Knittle

 

Visiting Assistant Professor

English, Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies,
Urban Studies, African American Studies

University of Pennsylvania (Ph. D.)
University of Iowa Writer’s Workshop (M.F.A.) 

 

knittled@tcnj.edu

609-771-2792

Bliss Hall 221

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Bernard Bearer (bearer@tcnj.edu)
Mary Biggs (mbiggs@tcnj.edu)
James Brazell (brazell@tcnj.edu)
Paul Cruser (pcruser@tcnj.edu)
William DeMeritt (bdemeritt@comcast.net)
Lahna Diskin (lahna.diskin@gmail.com)
Frank Erath (erathj@tcnj.edu)
Frank Hannold (hannold@tcnj.edu)
Lee Harrod (harrod@tcnj.edu)
Lawrence McCauley (mccauley@tcnj.edu)
Robert Mehlman (robertmehlmanphd@aol.com)
Thomas Murray (tjm0707@gmail.com)
Barry Novick (kinoeye45@mwn.com)
Michael Robertson (mroberts@tcnj.edu)
Lynn Waterhouse (lynwater@tcnj.edu)
Peter Wood (pandjwood@verizon.net)

 

Office Staff

Program Assistant, Michelle Ordini

Graduate Assistants, 2021-2022 Academic Year
Sharon Stanley
Isabella Guhl-Erdie

Graduate Assistants, 2020-2021 Academic Year
Sharon Stanley
Silas Jones- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2019-2020 Academic Year
LaToya Pegram
Heather Haase- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2018-2019 Academic Year
LaToya Pegram
Jordan Virgil- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2017-2018 Academic Year
Shirley Panjabi
LaToya Pegram
Rachel Atkins – Research Assistant

 

 

Top