The College of New Jersey

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

Faculty & Staff

The Department of English has full-time faculty members who have combined to create a vibrant intellectual community. In addition to literary scholars and critics, the faculty includes poets, novelists, biographers, linguists and specialists in English education. Committed to their students and their individual disciplines, they represent an array of scholarly approaches and methodologies, each devoted to the written word. Among the honors given to English faculty in recent years are two CASE New Jersey Professor of the Year awards, the Rona Jaffe Foundation award, a Guggenheim award, and fellowships from the Bush Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Faculty Profiles

 

 

Michele Lise Tarter

Michele Lise Tarter

Professor, Department Chair

Early American Literature, Women’s Autobiography, Quaker Studies

University of Colorado/Boulder (Ph.D.)

tarter@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3115

Bliss Hall 128

Felicia Jean Steele

Felicia Jean Steele

Associate Professor, Associate Chair

History of the English Language, Old and Middle English Language and Literature, Medievalism

University of Texas at Austin (Ph.D.)

steele@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2698

Bliss Hall 135

Mindi McMannMindi McMann

Associate Professor, Interim Graduate Coordinator

Contemporary and British Anglophone Literature

University of California (Ph.D.)

mcmannm@tcnj.edu

(609) 771- 2918

Bliss Hall 224

Samira
Abdur-Rahman

Samira Abdur-Rahman

Assistant Professor

English, Africana Studies,
African American Studies and Literature

Rutgers University, (Ph.D.)

 

abdurras@tcnj.edu

609-771-2697

Bliss Hall 210

Jo Carney

Jo Carney

English Graduate Program Coordinator, Professor

Shakespeare, Early Modern Literature and History,
the Literary Fairy Tale

University of Iowa (Ph.D.)

carney@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3047

Bliss Hall 131

Sabbatical 2022-2023

David Blake

David Blake

Professor

19th and 20th century U.S. literature, creative nonfiction

Washington University in St. Louis (Ph.D.)

blake@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3048

Bliss Hall 226

Jean Graham

Jean Graham

Professor

Early Modern Literature and History, Milton, Metaphysical Poetry

Case Western Reserve University (Ph.D.)

graham@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3233

Bliss Hall 230

Harriet Hustis
Harriet Hustis

Professor

Coordinator Honors Program

Literary and Classical Studies, Response Theory,
Disability Theory, Gothic Fiction

Brown University (M.A., Ph.D.)

hustis@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2632

Bliss Hall 201

Cassandra Jackson

Cassandra Jackson

Professor

African-American Literature, Critical Race Theory,
Visual Culture

Emory University (Ph.D.)

cjackson@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2687

Bliss Hall 219

Sabbatical 2022-2023

Lincoln Konkle

Lincoln Konkle

Professor

Thornton Wilder, American Drama, Classical to Contemporary Drama, Bruce Springsteen

Board Member of the Edward Albee Society and Thornton Wilder Society

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

konkleli@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2346

Bliss Hall 223

Emily Meixner

Emily Meixner

Professor

Coordinator of English Secondary Education Program

Young Adult Literature, Teacher Identity Development,
Reading and Writing Pedagogy

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Ph.D.)

meixner@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2686

Bliss Hall 217

Jia-Yan Mi

Jia-Yan Mi

Associate Professor

Comparative and Asian American Literature, Critical Theory and Cultural Studies, Visual and Film Studies

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, University of California at Davis (Ph.D.)

mi@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2468

Bliss Hall 218

Lisa Ortiz-Vilarelle

Lisa Ortiz-Vilarelle

Professor

20th century American literature, Autobiography studies, Multi-ethnic & Inter-American literary studies, Latin American literature

Wayne State University (Ph.D.)

ortiz@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3231

Bliss Hall 229

Catie Rosemurgy

Catie Rosemurgy

Professor

Poetry, Creative Writing, Contemporary Literature

University of Alabama (M.F.A.)

rose@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2559

Bliss Hall 215

Glenn Steinberg

Glenn Steinberg

Professor

Medieval and Renaissance literature, Chaucer, Dante, Spenser, Reception Theory, Bourdieu

Indiana University (Ph.D.)

 

gsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2106

Bliss Hall 216

David Venturo

David Venturo

Professor

English Literature 1600-1850, Popular Culture, Genre Theory

Harvard University (Ph.D.)

dventuro@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2155

Bliss Hall 220

Piper Kendrix Williams

Piper Kendrix Williams

Associate Professor

African American Literature, African Diaspora Literature, and Caribbean Women’s Literature

Rutgers University (Ph.D.)

williamp@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-3113

Social Sciences 335

 

Part-Time Faculty

Christina
Maffa-Johnson

Christina Maffa-Johnson

Visiting Assistant Professor

English Secondary Education

maffac1@tcnj.edu

609-771-2584

Bliss Hall 225

Diane Steinberg

Diane Steinberg

Interim Associate Chair, Assistant Professor of English

Medieval and Early Modern European Lit, British Romanticism, Linguistics

Sigma Tau Delta chapter sponsor

St. John’s College (M.A.) Indiana University (M.A.)

dsteinbe@tcnj.edu

(609) 771-2113

Bliss 211/135

 

 

Adjunct Professors

Hannah Assadi
Trisha Basak
Jack Christal-Gattanella
Andrew Erkkila
Jennifer Johnson
Nancy Lukomiski
Kristen Luettchau
Jodi Monster
Laura Neuman
Courtney Polidori
Jennie Sekanics

Emeritus Faculty

Bernard Bearer (bearer@tcnj.edu)
Juda Charles Bennett (bennett@tcnj.edu)
Mary Biggs (mbiggs@tcnj.edu)
James Brazell (brazell@tcnj.edu)
Paul Cruser (pcruser@tcnj.edu)
William DeMeritt (bdemeritt@comcast.net)
Lahna Diskin (lahna.diskin@gmail.com)
Frank Erath (erathj@tcnj.edu)
Ellen Friedman (friedman@tcnj.edu)
Frank Hannold (hannold@tcnj.edu)
Lee Harrod (harrod@tcnj.edu)
Lawrence McCauley (mccauley@tcnj.edu)
Robert Mehlman (robertmehlmanphd@aol.com)
Thomas Murray (tjm0707@gmail.com)
Barry Novick (kinoeye45@mwn.com)
Michael Robertson (mroberts@tcnj.edu)
Lynn Waterhouse (lynwater@tcnj.edu)
Peter Wood (pandjwood@verizon.net)

 

Office Staff

Program Assistant, Michelle Ordini

Graduate Assistants, 2021-2022 Academic Year
Sharon Stanley
Isabella Guhl-Erdie

Graduate Assistants, 2020-2021 Academic Year
Sharon Stanley
Silas Jones- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2019-2020 Academic Year
LaToya Pegram
Heather Haase- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2018-2019 Academic Year
LaToya Pegram
Jordan Virgil- Research Assistant

Graduate Assistants, 2017-2018 Academic Year
Shirley Panjabi
LaToya Pegram
Rachel Atkins – Research Assistant

 

 

Top